## Subsection 8.—Saskatchewan

The Executive Council of Saskatchewan has 13 members; the Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development; the Provincial Treasurer; the Attorney General; the Minister of Social Welfare and Rehabilitation; the Provincial Secretary; the Minister of Highways and Transportation; the Minister of Education; the Minister of Labour; the Minister of Agriculture; the Minister of Municipal Affairs; the Minister of Public Works, Telephones and Telegraphs; and the Minister of Public Health. The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 52 elected for a term of five years.

The Premier receives \$6,500 and each Cabinet Minister \$5,000 annually in addition to the sessional indemnity while the Leader of the Opposition, the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker receive an additional \$2,500, \$1,500 and \$600, respectively. The annual salary of a Member of the Legislature is \$2,000 together with \$1,000 expenses.

## 21.—Lieutenant-Governors of Saskatchewan, 1905-1950, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-50, and Present Ministry as at June 1, 1950

Note.—See headnote to Table 14, p. 85.

## Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission			Name	Date of Commission		
A. E. FORGET	Aug.	24,	1905	LtCol. H. E. Munroe	Mar.	31,	1931
George W. Brown	Oct.	5,	1910	A. P. McNab	Sept.	10,	1936
Sir Richard Stuart Lake	Oct.	6,	1915	Thomas Miller	Feb.	27,	1945
H. W. NEWLANDS	Feb.	17,	1921	REGINALD J. M. PARKER	June	22,	1945
H. W. NEWLANDS	Feb.	22,	19261	J. M. Uhrich	Mar.	24,	1948

<sup>1</sup> Second term.

## Legislatures, 1934-501

Date of Election		Legislature		Number of Sessions	Date of First Opening	Date of Dissolution	
June	19, 1934	8th	General	Assembly	4	Nov. 15, 1934	May 14, 1938
June	8, 1938	9th	General	Assembly	6	Jan. 19, 1939	May 10, 1944
June	15, 1944	10th	General	Assembly	5	Oct. 19. 1944	May 19, 1948
June	24, 1948	11th	General	Assembly	2	Feb. 10, 1949	2
		1			)		1

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1934-50 were: 6th Ministry, sworn in July 19, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. J. G. Gardiner; 7th Ministry, sworn in Nov. 1, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. J. Patterson; 8th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1944, under the leadership of Hon. T. C. Douglas.

<sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at time of going to press.